Workshopper in Arcosanti

Arcosanti, Arizona, USA
official site : http://www.arcosanti.org/

I learned about Arcosanti, an experimental town (so-called an urban laboratory) in 2006 when I was working on my diploma. I did love thoughts of Paolo Soleri (Italien architect, founder of Arcosanti) on the urbanism or the life itself.  I thought it would be great to visit Arcosanti one day. In 2009, here I am. I spent 10 days here with great people, participating in the workshop.

At first sight, Arcosanti was quite different than what I’d imagined : it seemed to suffer from progressing projects due to difficulties of raising funds. Yes, they have money problem. But soon, I realized that they or Paolo Soleri might choose to be poor and experimental rather than rich and commercial.  Anyhow, I do admire Paulo Soleri and Arcosanti people’s beautiful thoughts,minds and courage. I hope that Arcosanti find a better way to balance between being experienced and for-profit. I’ll be back.

Arcosanti, Arizona

Visitor Center, Arcosanti

arco_diner
Dinner at cafe terrace : Morgan,Tommy,Daniel, Paolo and me
Nature walk with Roger
Nature walk with Roger
Mesa around Arco
Mesa around Arco
acro_mesa
Mesa in front of Arco
arco_rooftop
Romantic Arco, watching the stars at night from the rooftop
arco_morning
Arcosanti at 6am through the mosquite net in my room