Cangari : 5 days in the convent of Korean missionary sisters

한국 수녀님들과 페루에서 보낸 5일
Cangari, Province of Huanta, Peru

평온하고 평화로운 시간
공동체와 나눔의 시간

Time of peace and serenity
Time with the community and time of sharing

From Cusco, I went to Cangari to meet Sister Augusta, an old friend of my parents, also Godmother of my sister, who became a sister and has been living in Peru as a missionary since about 10 years. We didn’t see each other more than 20 years. I was curious to see the life of the Peruvian country people as well as the life of Korean missionaries in Peru.

 That’s why I spent 5 days in Cangari with 3 Korean missionaries (Sister Augusta, sister Marie-Huco and sister Agnes) from Sisters of our lady of perpetual help.

The view of the city of Huanta, Cangari village is situated around the blue circled area.
The view of the city of Huanta, Cangari village is situated around the blue circled area.
 
Getting there:
From Cusco to Ayacucho, it seems quite close, but it take 24h by bus because of the high Andean mountains and the bad roads.
So I took a flight from Cusco to Lima, took a night bus from Lima (capital of Peru) to Ayacucho(10h), then take a minibus to Huanta  and took another minibus to Cangari.
View of the mountains from the convent
View of the mountains from the convent
The convent built by Korean sisters for themselves 수녀님들이 손수 지으신 수녀원
The convent built by Korean sisters for themselves 수녀님들이 손수 지으신 수녀원

Daily life : When in Rome, do as the Romans do.
As sisters do, I participated at the prayer and contemplation 4 times a day. Reading the bible in Spanish wasn’t easy. Neither prayer nor contemplation was something that I practice everyday. Yet little by little, it made me in peace and I could enjoy fully contemplating.

 
 
깐가리 부녀회 + 아야꾸쵸 교구 선교 200주년 기념미사 및 소풍.. 깐가리 주민분들은 깍두기인 나를 친절히 반겨주셨다
깐가리 부녀회 + 아야꾸쵸 교구 선교 200주년 기념미사 및 소풍